Culture Victoria

Deakin University Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library

1 Gherhinghap Street Geelong Phone: (03) 5227 1200 Visit Website

The Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library is currently housed in the Special Collection of the library at the Waterfront Campus of Deakin University, Geelong. This unique campus is located in a refurbished former woolstore, directly overlooking Corio Bay. The ADPML has been established to celebrate the significant role played by Alfred Deakin in the formation of Australia's political and social institutions. Deakin was Prime Minister of Australia three times - in 1902-4, 1905-8 and 1909-10 - and was a major contributor to the Federation movement and the birth of the Commonwealth of Australia. The ADPML collects books read by Deakin and reference material about him, his family and his times. The Library also digitises and makes available material held by other institutions and individuals via the ADPML website. The ADPML is available for use by researchers and a small display of realia is maintained within the library at the Waterfront Campus.